IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

UMI PerformanceSolo PerformanceUnbalanced EngineeringHotpart.comBlaine Fabrication.com

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Beaver Run, Anybody with experiance @ this Track??
GM01SS
post Jun 22 2005, 01:02 AM
Post #1

Nitto Destroyer!

Group: Advanced Members
Member No.: 29

Greetings! Like the title says, I am going to Beaverun for the first time with the local BMW group. Looking for any info as to track layout out ,quirks etc.

Thanks in advance

Gary
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
KeithO
post Jun 22 2005, 12:16 PM
Post #2

Veteran Member

Member No.: 14

You can get a track map at:

http://www.beaverun.com/

This is my home track and I have to believe that I am closing in on 1,000 laps around there. I am a track instructor for the facility and often get calls from the management when they need additional instructors for the marque-based events. This year has been hard because of some health problems with my wife. Regardless, my dad instructs at almost every track event and he will likely be there for the BMW event.

As far as the track is concerned, here are the things to consider:

The braking zone into Turn 1 takes a little time to get right for a specific car. Initially, the braking zone is uphill. It then crests and goes downhill. As you move your braking zone forward, all at once, braking effectiveness is greatly reduced since the road starts falling away from you. Start at the 200ft marker and move up as you gain confidence.

Turn 7 is a blind, off camber, downhill, right-hander. After a couple of laps, you will end up picking a tree out on the horizon to use for your turn-in point since you can't see the apex. Cars with good grip and medium to low power can take this flatfooted. My car MIGHT be able to take this turn flat-footed, but I haven't gained the courage to do this yet. I plan to do some testing later this year and try.