IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Forum Rules 
Unbalanced EngineeringBlaine Fabrication.comUMI PerformanceHotpart.comSolo Performance

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New Guy
Camaroguy22
post Aug 5 2008, 11:02 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,268

Hey what is up everyone in am new to the web site.

I need some help I live in Ohio and have a 2000 Camaro SS that I am starting to Autocross. I am new to the Autocross world as well an need some pointers. I am currently racing with a porsche club that holds there own events and I am a couple of seconds off there times. Could anyone tell me what upgrades I should start with to help me be more competitive?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
sgarnett
post Aug 5 2008, 11:59 AM
Post #2

Seeking round tuits

Group: Advanced Members
Member No.: 33

Get a performance-oriented alignment. Assuming your car is stock, max out the negative camber (tires leaning toward the center of the car at the top, farther apart at the bottom), but keep it matched side to side. Then max out the caster to whatever you can get, again keeping it matched side-to-side. For now anyway, set the toe to zero. You will want to ask the alignment shop whether they will do custom specs first. Some will only align to the factory specs. If so, find another shop.

Assuming you are on street tires, set the front pressure to around 40 and the rear pressure to 30.

Attend an Evolution driving schoolas soon as you can. There's one coming up in Virginia if you can make it, or make a Halloween road trip to Florida. Otherwise, keep an eye on the schedule next spring for something closer. Meanwhile, ride along with some experienced drivers and have them ride along with you.

At this point, you could be in the fastest Porsche ever made and you would be several seconds behind. Seriously. What you need the most is seat time.