IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Forum Rules 
Solo PerformanceHotpart.comBlaine Fabrication.comUnbalanced EngineeringUMI Performance

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ok, I finally actually own one..., Picked up the 'new' car
marka
post Mar 9 2006, 07:51 PM
Post #1

Experienced Member

Group: Advanced Members
Member No.: 896

Howdy,

So, I finally picked up the camaro I've been talking about for the last 6 months or so...

It's a '99 w/65k miles. Bunch of modifications & extra parts. I paid $5k for it, but needed to go to Texas to get it.

Yes, that's a low price... The seller is my best friend from college. He's been a chip designer since getting out of school, but got tired of that and is moving w/his wife to Switzerland to get a doctorate in Psychology for the next five years or so. He sold the car to me at a low price because it was a lot less hassle for him, plus I think he wanted it to go to someone who would appreciate it.

Anyway, the car is pretty cool. Its got:

Suspension:
* GC ride height adjusters
* koni sa fronts, tokico rears
* 550# front 200# rear springs (he thinks... I haven't looked yet)
* Stock swaybars
* rear drop brackets on the axle for the LCA's
* 17x9.5 wheels w/ 275/45 Nitto NT555R2's
* Random Tech torque arm

Drivetrain:
* AL flywheel / strong clutch (not sure on specs... Its driveable, but not as good as stock)
* Mac headers, gutted cats, Bassani exhaust
* MTI Airbox lid
* Pro 5.0 shifter (_LOVE_ the feel of this, but its pretty noisy)
* Underdrive crank pulley

Other:
* Wilwood 6 piston front brakes
* braided brake lines
* 4 point welded in rollbar
* Sparco reclining 'race seat' driver's seat
* Service manuals
* Trailer hitch

Needs work:
* Stock torsen is dead. T2R on the way
* Rear ring gear has a stripped bolt hole. 3.73's in a new housing sitting in my trailer at home.
* spongy brake pedal after hard cornering... My buddy thinks its the rear axles moving and kicking the rear pads back, but nobody knows for sure yet.