IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 Forum Rules 
Solo PerformanceHotpart.comHellwig ProductsImproved RacingUMI Performance
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Phase Converters - Making a 3 phase lathe work at home shop
StanIROCZ
post Nov 12 2014, 02:28 AM
Post #1


Veteran Member
*****

Group: Moderators
Posts: 3,323
Joined: 30-March 06
From: Detroit Suburbs
Member No.: 1,144



I have a chance at getting an old lathe from work for a good price but it needs 3 phase power. Below is the tag on the machine:

(IMG:http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o33/StanIROCZ/Garage/50075BD2-2F97-49DD-977F-83140E50730F_zpsgdwwgyp0.jpg)

I've read this article on Making Three Phase Machines Work in a Single Phase Shop

It sounds like I have 3 options for phase converters, a static converter being the lowest cost option. Problem with it is in cuts the power in 1/3 and needs to be sized properly for the motor it runs. Not sure if this would work for me or not.

Not sure on exact cost of the lathe but I'm figuring around $3-500. It's not a great machine but is good enough for making spacers and other odds and ends. It is manual (no CNC), the 3 jaw isn't true, the tool holder base has some stripped threads that make it hard to get it locked down rigid etc. There are some odds and ends tools that come with it (ball bearing tail stock, 4 jaw, etc and quite a few other things that I'll probably never use). Size is around 36" not sure on the throw. So given the cost of the machine and its condition I don't want to sink a ton of money into correcting the phase.


Looking for guidance from anyone who might have been through this before.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StanIROCZ
post Nov 12 2014, 02:44 AM
Post #2


Veteran Member
*****

Group: Moderators
Posts: 3,323
Joined: 30-March 06
From: Detroit Suburbs
Member No.: 1,144



Is this what I need?
http://www.wnysupply.com/index.cfm/fa/item...tid/0/id/336301

if so no sweat spending $46
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Racerdad916
post Nov 12 2014, 06:14 AM
Post #3


Full NVH
**

Group: Moderators
Posts: 413
Joined: 16-July 07
From: Grove City, Ohio
Member No.: 1,854



The guy that used to play drums in our band is a commercial electrician, I'll call him and find out.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StanIROCZ
post Nov 12 2014, 07:28 AM
Post #4


Veteran Member
*****

Group: Moderators
Posts: 3,323
Joined: 30-March 06
From: Detroit Suburbs
Member No.: 1,144



Let me know what he has to say. My father in law was an industrial electrician and ran lots of wire but never needed to convert a machine.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jacks2000
post Nov 12 2014, 02:31 PM
Post #5


Member
*

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 9-July 13
From: Hutchinson, KS
Member No.: 223,763



From your description this doesn't sound like a very big lathe. Is it belt drive? It might be cheaper to just buy a new motor.
Might have to do some rewiring on the switch.
Jack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SS Performance
post Nov 12 2014, 02:35 PM
Post #6


Member
*

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 130
Joined: 3-June 14
From: Cape May County, NJ
Member No.: 223,818



I have a phase converter for my lathe.

I've had it for about 15 years, I think I paid about $2200 for it back then.

So swapping the motor might be a better deal for you.

Good luck
Craig
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DAlgozine
post Nov 12 2014, 02:57 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
**

Group: Advanced Members
Posts: 260
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 3,162



I agree. A new motor will likely be cheaper and run more efficient. Phase convertors can be finicky, and inefficient. A new motor and rewiring will get you going. Then sell your 3 phase motor to recoup a couple bucks.
How many HP is the motor? A quality, brand new 1 HP single phase motor is about $100 to $150. You can find them used very cheap.

This post has been edited by DAlgozine: Nov 12 2014, 02:59 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Racerdad916
post Nov 12 2014, 03:01 PM
Post #8


Full NVH
**

Group: Moderators
Posts: 413
Joined: 16-July 07
From: Grove City, Ohio
Member No.: 1,854



Wil just told me the same thing. Swap the motor.....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
StanIROCZ
post Nov 13 2014, 01:35 AM
Post #9


Veteran Member
*****

Group: Moderators
Posts: 3,323
Joined: 30-March 06
From: Detroit Suburbs
Member No.: 1,144



1.9 kW is 2.5 HP. I need to take another look at it to see the motor. I cant remember the name brand of the lathe but i remember it being from Brazil which seems kinda strange for its age. Hopefully it will take a universal motor.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2018 - 08:16 PM