Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Is this necessary? (Rear diff content)
F-Body Road Racing and Autocross Forums > Community > General Discussion
Honda93
Still running the OEM Torsen as house issues forced me to put the diff swap on hold. Anyway, I came across this article while researching the 10 bolt...

http://www.hotrod.com/how-to/engine/hppp-0...-rearend-build/

Although it's 10 years old, how relevant is the build advice they offer? I plan on keeping the power stock (2001 LS1 6MT) and I run street tires, not Hoo$iers.

Would a diff (probably a TrueTrac, I don't think I'd like the way a clutch diff engages) and new bearings and such be OK, or should axles and the ring gear be replaced as well? There have been some axle hops in the car's lifetime.

Thanks!
SuperMacGuy
I am no expert in that, but their 5 points at the bottom seem reasonable. <shrug> I personally would look at the axle bearing surfaces, they could be worn. I had one get pitted just randomly before I even drove it a lot at AX. Don't buy moser axles.
InfernalVortex
QUOTE (SuperMacGuy @ Mar 28 2016, 12:43 PM) *
I am no expert in that, but their 5 points at the bottom seem reasonable. <shrug> I personally would look at the axle bearing surfaces, they could be worn. I had one get pitted just randomly before I even drove it a lot at AX. Don't buy moser axles.

Whats wrong with Moser axles? Theyre the only company I know of that makes axles for a GM 9-bolt...
CrashTestDummy
There have been known issues with Moser axles, namely soft finishes which causes premature wear at the bearing surfaces, resulting in leaks, etc. Support from Moser for these problem axles has not been stellar, so they kind of got a rep for bad parts, and not standing behind them. Since there are others out there providing parts, many recommend trying elsewhere before ordering from Moser.