Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: My other car is an airplane
F-Body Road Racing and Autocross Forums > Community > General Discussion
Steve91T
Hey I figure if you guys can talk guns and corvettes, I can talk about airplanes.

Long story short, I've been flying gliders since I was 13 and the. tow plane for a glider school in SC since I was 18. I did that for a few years and built my time until I left for college. After I finished I got a job at a commuter airline and now I've been flying the Airbus 320 for American Airlines for about 4 years now. Sailplanes still have a special place in my heart. It's the most pure form of flying. Very bird like. And the tow plane, an old crop duster, is a 225 hp 1000 lb fabric covered plane that is meant to fly slow, and carry a lot of weight. It makes a perfect tow plane.

Anyway, last weekend I had an opportunity to fly the tow plane in an air show. To top it off, it was at my brothers Air National Guard base where he flies F16's. Truely an amazing opportunity.

I just thought I'd share a quick video I made. If anyone has ever had an interest in aviation, I can't recommend finding your nearest glider school and at least taking a ride. I promise you'll be hooked.

https://youtu.be/8odWPfFU16w
CrashTestDummy
Haven't seen the vid yet, but a friend of mine started as a light plane instructor, and is now a 747 captain. He even spent some time flying out of Kauai. I almost went that route, but went the land lubber direction.
trackbird
Oh yea, you can talk airplanes here. The 320 is supposed to be a nice bird. Though I've never had the chance to fly on one. I'll have to check out the video. That sounds like a pretty awesome weekend.

The following information may come as a surprise to many of you because it doesn't come up much around here.